US to UK: Introduction

From publicdomainpictures.net

So you’ve decided you want to apply to study in the UK.

Congratulations!

As someone who also made such a decision, I’m very happy for you and your exciting future plans across the pond.

However, I imagine we have something in common besides UK study that isn’t quite as exciting: anxiety.

How do I start? Will it be difficult? How much will it cost? What do I need? What if they say no? How long should I study there for? What should I take? How…

Stop. Deep Breath. Good.

Short answers: at the beginning, a bit, depends, a lot of things, apply again, however long you want/can afford, what you normally take to college.

Studying in the UK might have extra steps than staying in America, but not by much. With a little bit of knowledge and research, you’ll be able to do this in a snap (and by that I mean a few months of sporadic determined effort).

The US to UK series of posts is designed to give you an idea of each stage in the process, but you also need to keep in mind that it is not the same for every person and every school, and that it is different between undergraduate and graduate.

My perspective is as a graduate applicant. I applied for a taught Celtic Studies program at the University of Glasgow as soon as I graduated with my degree in English. Therefore, my experience will be different than applying for an undergraduate program or a research graduate degree, and it is certainly different than a doctorate.

However, the tips and advice I am including will still be relevant no matter what you are applying for, although things will be missing for research and doctorate hopefuls.

I’ll be touching on writing personal statements, visas, the process of registration, and even how to choose a school or a program.

Leave any questions you have about the process in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer them in later posts.

Your Bonnie Celtophile,

Dani

Questions? Thoughts? Inspiring Ideas?

