Celtic Art Inspired Designs

Last week, I posted about the Desborough Mirror and Jody Joy’s theories of the creation of the designs on Celtic mirrors.

Over the weekend, I decided to try it.

Although I know that I do not grasp the same concepts of design as those people that designed mirrors thousands of years ago, it was a lot of fun to look at the piece in terms of smaller buildings blocks (the motifs) that I didn’t fully understand how to use and play with combinations.

I did both designs in pencil and then digitally edited them so they’re easier to see. I’ll be posting both the original picture and edited picture.

The first one I did turned out to be a bit of a mess and more complicated than I expected going in, which is why one part is heavily designed (that’s where I started) and other parts are simpler (the last bits, like the stripes on the side).

md

20160813_195255-01

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second attempt at design turned out, in my opinion, better than the first, partly because it’s a bit simpler and I had a better grasp of the motifs.

New Doc 1_3New Doc 1_5 (1)

 

 

 

 

And yeah, it looked better when turned into a digital file, too.

Your Bonnie Celtophile,

Dani

Questions? Thoughts? Inspiring Ideas?

