Kelvingrove and the Hunterian

The Hunterian Museum.
The Hunterian Museum.

Dearest Readers,

I’ve never been to a museum that made me want to come back again to explore. I’m usually pretty satisfied when I leave, as if I’ve seen enough to hold me over for a while.

Today, I met my match. The Kelvingrove Museum & Art Gallery is the perfect place to go if you’re looking for so much stuff that it’ll take days to look at in detail, so it’s impossible to get through it all in detail in an afternoon, especially when you’re tired and your feet hurt.

My mom and I went to the Hunterian Museum first, since it was near this afternoon’s UofG information fair. It was fascinating. There were anatomical specimens, animals with deformities, minerals, bugs, mastadon teeth, a reconstruction of the millions-of-years-old Lucy, Roman and Celtic artifacts, and pieces of dinosaurs.

20160907_133506

Then we went to Kelvingrove, and that one wins, no question. There are so many things in that building, too many to get through. I’ll need to go back, probably dozens of times, to see the paintings, the animals, the old engravings, the sculptures, and everything else displayed on one of the three floors.

20160907_150303Today, my favorite spot was the Life in the Rainforest. As I got near it, I could hear the distinct call of howler monkeys, a hollow roar that, when layered dozens of times, sounds like the apocalypse itself is approaching from somewhere among the trees.

I picked up my pace towards the sound and entered this room set aside with three projectors showing scenes from South American rainforests and communities, animals from the rainforest including peccary, caiman, and capuchins, and some items from a South American group, all with a backdrop of rainforest sounds.

In January, I was in the rainforest in South America, there with the help of ARCAmazon. The sounds in the exhibit took me back to late nights laughing with my class, long hikes through the forest, the first time we heard a group of howler monkeys (everyone woke up from their naps and ran around the platform, looking for the source of our impending doom), monkeys traveling through camp, storms in the middle of the night, and the group meals every day at 7:00, 1:00, and 7:00.

It was wonderful to find a little slice of that in my new home.

I have some pictures from both museums, which I put in this helpful little folder so you can check them out if you want to (please let me know if it doesn’t work). They include this cheeky little number:

20160907_153456
In the upper right corner, it says: “Highland regiments created a stir in Paris in 1815 when they wore tartan kilts as part of their military uniform.”

Ever been to either of these museums? What were your favorite parts?

Your Bonnie Celtophile,

Dani

One thought on “Kelvingrove and the Hunterian

Questions? Thoughts? Inspiring Ideas?

