Remember, Remember the Fifth of November (With Some Fireworks)

Dearest Readers,

Yesterday was November 5, and you know what that means!

Remember, remember the fifth of November.

Gunpowder, treason and plot.

I see no reason why gunpowder treason

Should ever be forgot.

[Full Poem Video.]

The fifth of November is also called Bonfire Night or Guy Fawkes Day. It’s a day of fireworks and carnivals, and in Glasgow, it means gathering on the Glasgow Green to watch the lights in the sky. Other traditions include lighting bonfires and even burning effigies of Guy Fawkes.

But where did it come from? Why did it start? And why do they want to burn the guy (Fawkes)?

Guy Fawkes was one of the men behind the Gunpowder Plot in 1605, which was a plan to blow up parliament in order to get rid of the people that were making life really difficult for Catholics at the time. Fawkes was caught with the gunpowder on November 5, and his name has gone down in history, even though the other conspirators were caught, as well.

People lit bonfires to celebrate the safety of the king, which then became tradition, although nowadays people joke about whether it’s the safety of the king that’s being celebrated or the attempt to blow up parliament.

Fawkes was tortured and executed, as the 17th century dictated, and even now the cellars of parliament are checked before the monarch enters. The other conspirators were captured, too.

There’s so much more information available. Wikipedia and Bonfire Night have a lot of information, and there’s this cheeky video on Youtube with some fun facts and an overview of the plot. 

So what did I do to celebrate Bonfire Night?

I did some homework and cleaned my room.

20161105_183234
Wall of lights at St. Enochs Square.

I’m kidding. I did those things, but I ALSO went to see the fireworks at Glasgow Green with member of the Scottish Country Dance Club (and 50,000 or so other people), then went with a group of the club for an after-fireworks hot chocolate and pizza party.

It was fun to see the area around Glasgow Green at night, especially since there are many Christmas decorations and lights up now.

The fireworks were fun. They had a soundtrack to go with them, and that was delightful. I’ve never seen fireworks set to music before. Nor have I been to fireworks with a countdown, although that was a lot of fun.

I promise that bottom one was supposed to be a smiley face.
I promise that bottom one was supposed to be a smiley face.

They also had fireworks never before seen in Scotland, and I’m thinking that was the Smiley Face ones. The fun thing about them was that they didn’t explode how they were supposed to, so they were often sideways, squished, and/or upside-down.

There were some that were the correct way; I just don’t believe I got them on video.

If you want to see the videos I took, they’re in this lovely folder  on Google Drive. Some of the videos go out of focus at points. Sometimes I tapped the screen accidentally, and it is really difficult to make my phone focus on lights in the sky.

And that, my friends, is all I have to say, but if you have any comments or insights or fun facts or anecdotes or anything, really, that you would like to share, you can comment below.

Your Bonnie Celtophile,

Dani

PS- If you liked the post, don’t forget to share! And if you have a Twitter, you can follow me @bonniecelt. Móran Taing!

2 thoughts on “Remember, Remember the Fifth of November (With Some Fireworks)

  1. Ava Nielsen

    I’ve been reading your blog since the beginning and decided I should also follow you on Twitter. So happy to see that you’re a fellow Outlander fan!

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Inspiring Ideas?

