I Made My Own Paper Yesterday

Dearest Readers,

I went to some craft shows yesterday at the Scottish Exhibition Centre in Glasgow: Hobbycrafts, the Scottish Quilting Show, and the Stitching & Sewing Show. There were a lot of absolutely beautiful quilts on display there.

Seriously, if you can go to a quilting show with a variety of categories (so not just traditional, but also contemporary art and journal and even themed groupings from quilting communities), I totally recommend it. Not only is it soothing (I’ve been pretty stressed so that was important), it’s also extremely impressive and inspirational. The things these people can do is so impressive.

And yes, unfortunately, most of the people I saw there were older than me, and most of the people that weren’t were someone’s kids.

The best part of the day, though, was when I found out Jonathan Korejko, papermaker, had a little demonstration of how it works to make your open paper AND had a thing set up so you can make your own piece of paper out of pulp made from denim.

I’ll let that sink in.

Make your own paper. From Denim.

20170304_141102

How cool is that?

20170304_141109

I, of course, did it.

And it was just as amazing as I thought it would be.

The paper while still wet.
The paper while still wet.

Look how beautiful it is.

The paper while dry.
The paper while dry (I apologize for the low-quality of this image. Looked better on my phone.)

I don’t know what I’m going to use it for, but I honestly might just hang it up on my wall to remind myself how absolutely amazing handmade things are and how amazing humans are for figuring things like that out.

It’s a good thing to remember that, because I’m an awesome human, and so are you! We all have the capacity to make things with our own hands, and many of us do it every day, whether we’re making actual things or results or communication.

We’re all pretty awesome. Keep it up.

Your Bonnie Celtophile,

Dani

Questions? Thoughts? Inspiring Ideas?

